Fashion Spotlight Interview: Nivia Prescod

Nivia PrescodLove it or hate it, the life of a publicist— especially in fashion— is never dull. Nivia Prescod, a publicist at THINK PR, a boutique PR agency in NYC, definitely agrees. Having worked in PR and Media Relations for over 5 years, Nivia has collaborated with stylists from prominent TV shows such as Gossip Girl, Entourage, One Tree Hill, So You Think You Can Dance and celebrities such as iCarly’s Jennette McCurdy, Akeelah and the Bee’s Keke Palmer and Raven-Symone to name a few. She has also teamed up with tween movie hits: High School Musical 3 and the Hannah Montana Movie to work her PR magic. How cool is that! Think you want her job? Nivia gives Fashion Spotlight the 411 on what the real life “lipstick jungle” is like. 

 

Fashion Spotlight: What made you want to work in PR? 

Nivia Prescod: I started out working in Fashion Marketing and as you already know PR goes hand in hand with Marketing.  So, after I was exposed to the whole meet and greet of PR life, I was hooked.

 

FS: What skills would you need to be successful in this field?

NP: You would need to be persistent and resourceful, as well as focused with a lot of hustle.

 

FS: Do you have any advice for aspiring publicists?  

NP: Be creative and think out the box.  There is a tremendous amount of competition in this field so you have to really set yourself apart from the rest. 

 

FS: What is your personal style?

NP: Oh my… I am very versatile so it is pretty much whatever I’m feeling that day.  But, I always wear one piece that has a little boho-chic or eclectic rock in it.

 

FS: You never leave home without _________.  

NP: My blackberry and my lip-gloss.  Don’t laugh.

 

FS: What do you like most about working at THINK PR?

NP: I like the ability to represent various clients.  Right now I have a fashion and a food client.  This gives me a chance to show that my expertise is not limited to one type of PR.

 

 

Leave a Reply

